NC State Football Announces Annual Team Awards


Brayden Holt


RALEIGH, NC – NC State’s football program held its annual awards ceremony Sunday at the Talley Student Center to honor top performers, leaders, and contributors during the 2022 campaign.

The Governor’s Award, which is given to the most valuable player of the team, has two owners this season: the scorer. Christopher Dunn and defender Isaiah Moore.

Dunn, who was also named Special Team Player of the Year, rewrote the ACC and NC State record books this season and was a finalist for the Lou Groza Award. A three-year captain, Moore helped the Wolfpack defense reach some of the highest scores on FBS in 2022.

For the first time in the history of the school, a team of brothers was awarded the offensive and defensive player of the year awards. wide receiver Thayer Thomas Torry Holt, named after his high school coach, Wolfpack legend, won the Offensive Player of the Year Award. Thomas was the lead receiver of the Wolfpack with 53 catches in 2022. He was one of the ACC leaders in receptions for most of the season, leading the Wolfpack to a 118-yard win over Virginia Tech in 10 catches with two goals.

Also Read :  Perceived mental health, work, and life stress in association with the amount of weekly alcohol consumption among Canadian adults who have ever drank | BMC Public Health

Younger brother, defender Drake Thomaswon the Mario Williams Award for Most Valuable Defensive Player. Thomas leads the team with 90 tackles and ranks first among all ACC defensive players with 13 losses in conference games. Second-team All-ACC selection, also placing second in the ACC with 6.5 sacks in ACC competitions.

game host M. J. Morris Winner of the Philip Rivers Award for Most Distinguished Freshman. Morris came off the bench to lead the Pack to victory over Virginia Tech, starting with a win over Wake Forest. He was named Rookie of the Week twice in the ACC and is one of six true freshmen in the playoff period with 20 completions in one game, 260 yards, three touchdowns, and no interference.

Also Read :  Food as medicine? It’s not as simple as it sounds.

Let’s take a look at the other award winners:

Alpha Rising Award – Outstanding Improvement: Keyon Lesane, Davin Vann
Community Impact Award: Joe Shimko
Ken McNeill Iron Wolf Award – Return from Injury: CJ Clark, Kiros Fagan, Isaiah Moore, payton wilson
Wolfpack Spirit Award – Special Contribution to the Program: Ram Ruffin McNeill
Hungry Wolf Award – Improvement in Nutrition: Jaleel Davis
Leader of the Hunt Award – Nutrition Commitment: Drake Thomas, Thayer Thomas
Offensive Scout Player of the Year: Ben Finley, Josh Crabtree
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Nicholas Treco
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Torren Wright, Jamie Shaw
Michael J. Hardy Award – Actor with a Winning Attitude: Grant Gibson
Al Michaels Award – Team Before Itself: Jason Harris, Darryl Jones
Bo Rein Award – Vital Contribution in an Unknown Role: Joe Shimko
Bob Warren Award – Integrity and sportsmanship: Grant Gibson, Bryson Speas
Ted Brown Award – Offensive of the Year: Jordan Houston
Gary Rowe Award – Recipient of the Year: Thayer Thomas
Jim Ritcher Award – Offensive Lineman of the Year: Grant Gibson, Timothy McKay
Bill Cowher Award – Defensive Player of the Year: Drake Thomas
Cary Brewbaker Award – Defensive Side Man of the Year: Davin Vann
DeWayne Washington Award – Defensive Back of the Year: Aydan White

Also Read :  Baby Foods and Infant Formula Market 2022 Analysis by 2029


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.