Hynes claims record NRL Dally M Medal haul

Nicho Hynes has ended a remarkable first season at Cronulla with a record dally-M haul after conquering the NRL’s top gong in dominant fashion.

Hynes became the clear star of rugby league’s night of nights on Wednesday night, with the Cronulla half-back finishing with a record 38 points.

Three points behind Ben Hunt at the halfway point in the season, the Sharks star stormed home to beat James Tedesco by five points while Hunt finished third.

He is only the fifth player in history, along with Johnathan Thurston, to win the award in his first season at a new club.

“I can honestly say that I came here not expecting anything.

“I can not believe it. It’s fucking crazy. I pinch myself.

“To have this around my neck. I foamed Johnathan Thurston as a kid, Andrew Johns.

“And now I’m next to them. It’s incredible.”

Also Read :  Health and Wellness: Put the ‘nut’ in ‘nutrition’ — the health benefits of including nuts in your diet | News, Sports, Jobs

Sydney Roosters star Raecene McGregor claimed her first wife’s Dally M, beating Tamika Upton and Tarryn Aiken.

Rising Newcastle star Jesse Southwell was named NRLW Rookie of the Year while Sydney Roosters manager John Strange was the top mentor.

Todd Payten clinched the major men’s coaching gong while his second-rower Jeremiah Nanai was Rookie of the Year after scoring 17 tries for North Queensland.

Penrith’s Isaah Yeo was named Captain of the Year and led three Panthers in the NRL’s Dally M-Team of the Year.

Hynes was also presented with the Provan Summons Spirit of NRL Award for his work raising mental health awareness following his post-game interview following the death of Paul Green.

But it’s the top gong he will remember most as it was his first season as a full-time starter, having spent years in the wilderness of rugby league before being offered a chance in Melbourne.

Also Read :  Wall St gains as jobless claims data eases rate worries

Hynes, named to replace Ryan Papenhuyzen last year when Storm’s full-back went down with an injury, was an instant star in the NRL.

Craig Fitzgibbon, who was a playmaker as a junior, relied on the 26-year-old as one of his first signings to take the Sharks into the next No. 7 era.

He was immediately rewarded with Hynes tallying 26 tries in an outstanding season and becoming the first Shark to win the award since Preston Campbell in 2001.

And he did all this with his mom as his date for the night and admitted she almost made him cry.

“I almost had a little tear (during my speech). We’ve been through a hell of a lot,” he said.

“Everything I do is for her and of course for my dad… But mum’s had a tougher life.

Also Read :  This Diwali Delhi Is Likely To Break Firecracker Bursting Record Of 5 Years: Survey

“To take her and see her smile.

“I saw her (she got emotional) but I couldn’t look any further or I would have gotten too emotional.”



Player of the Year: Nicho Hynes

Beginner: Jeremiah Nanai

Captain: Isaah Yeo


James Tedesco, Joseph Sua’ali’i, Joseph Manu, Valentine Holmes, Alex Johnston, Cameron Munster, Nicho Hynes, Joseph Tapine, Api Koroisau, Payne Haas, Viliame Kikau, Jeremiah Nanai, Isaah Yeo. Trainer: Todd Payten.


Player of the Year: Raecene McGregor

Newcomer: Jesse Southwell

Captain: Isabelle Kelly


Sam Bremner, Teagan Berry, Isabeele Kelly, Jessica Sergis, Jaime Champan, Tarryn Aiken, Raecene McGregor, Caitlan Johnston, Keeley Davis, Millie Boyle, Keilee Joseph, Olivia Kernick, Simaima Taufa. Coach: John Strange.