Grant Rides The Top At Eldora

ROSSBURG, Ohio — On a milestone night, Justin Grant became the 26th driver to reach 50 USAC national wins when he picked up his second win in the 4-Crown Nationals USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship of his career at Eldora Speedway.

Grant, who won the 4 Crowns race in 2016, took the lead on lap five of the 30 lap feature from Jason McDougal and finished it in style by becoming the first driver to have six straight wins in the season to staying afloat by 80 points in his quest for a first USAC National Sprint Car driving title.

Grant’s fourth USAC Sprint Car victory at Eldora came at the 300th USAC National Open Wheel Scoring event ever held at Eldora. Grant received a $10,000 reward in his TOPP Motorsports/NOS Energy Drink – MPV Express – TOPP Industries/Maxim/Kistler Chevy for rim driving on one of the most famous dirt tracks in the country.

“Eldora Speedway is so amazing,” said Grant. “It’s on the fence. It’s about high stakes. It’s a high risk. It’s a high reward. I had an absolute blast out there. I’ve really struggled at Eldora in recent years and I almost wrote myself off here last year during the 4 Crown tournament.”

Every win matters to Grant, but this particular one especially so, as he became the first driver to win three Bubby Jones Master of Going Faster races in 2022 – a 10-race miniseries on the USAC National Sprint Car schedule. Jones was Grant’s father-in-law who won six USAC National Sprint Car features at Eldora, including the first of his career in 1977.

Also Read :  To leave no one behind, Africa is leading from the top

“Winning every one of them is special, but winning a Bubby Jones Master of Going Faster race at Eldora is as cool to me as a sprint car race,” said Grant proudly. “I’m on cloud nine.”

CJ Leary started eighth and robbed Grant’s lead in the closing laps.

But Grant maintained total control and completed the quest by crossing the checkered flag with a 0.644 lead over Leary and Bacon third.

McDougal was fourth, with fast qualifier Chase Stockon fifth.

The box score

Justin Grant Vl Eldora Usac Sprint 4crown Julia Johnson Photos 24 Sep (1003c)
Justin Grant won Saturday’s USAC Sprint Car Feature at Eldora Speedway. (Julia Johnson photo)

USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio, September 24, 2022

FATHEADZ EYEWEAR QUALIFICATION: 1st Pursuit Stockon, 5s, KO-16.032; 2. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-16,051; 3. Geoff Ensign, 5, Baldwin/Fox-16.066; 4. Shane Cottle, 74x, Hodges-16.104; 5. Isaac Chapple, 52, Chapple-16,184; 6. Justin Grant, 4, TOPP-16.194; 7. Matt Westfall, 33m, Marshall 16.221; 8. Jason McDougal, 5m, KO-16.237; 9. Kyle Cummins, 3R, Rock Steady-16.276; 10. Emerson Axsome, 47 B.C. B.C., Clauson Marshall Newman-16.278; 11. Kevin Thomas Jr., 15,000, BGE Dougherty-16,316; 12. Jadon Rogers, 14, Engler-16,335; 13. Jake Swanson, 21AZ, Team AZ-16,339; 14. Carson Garrett, 15, BGE Dougherty-16,340; 15. CJ Leary, 77m, Michael-16,341; 16. Dallas Hewitt, 18, Keen-16,391; 17. Anton Hernandez, 2B, 2B Racing 16,460; 18. Dustin Clark, 75, Clark-16,488; 19. Logan Seavey, 42, Cheney-16,500; 20. Brandon Mattox, 28, Mattox-16529; 21. Braxton Cummings, 71B, Cummings-16.567; 22. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-16,576; 23. Brian Ruhlman, 49, Ruhlman-16,618; 24. Jack James, 99J, James-16.683; 25. Evan Mosley, 27, Mosley-16,705; 26. Keith Sheffer II, 86, Sheffer-16,720; 27. Ryan Barr, 21B, Barr-16,747; 28. Nathan Moore, 48, Moore-16,749; 29. Corey Smith, 66 years old, CS-16.982; 30. Lee Underwood, 24L, Underwood-16,984; 31. Larry Kingseed Jr., 59, Powell-17.002; 32. Alex Bright, 37, Felker-17.062; 33.Korbyn Hayslett, 1H, Hayslett-17.089; 34.Hunter Maddox, 24m, Maddox-17.130; 35. Chris Windom, 19, Hayward-17,216; 36. Chris Phillips, 6, Phillips-17.235; 37. Gage Etgen, 99, Etgen-17,269; 38. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-17.339; 39. Chad Ruhlman, 49c, Ruhlman-17,584; 40. Mitchel Moles, 19AZ, Reinbold/Underwood-NT.

Also Read :  Resurgent Aussie tennis star Daria Saville’s classy response to devastating ACL injury blow

SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (8 laps, top 4 transfer to feature) 1st Jake Swanson, 2nd Chase Stockon, 3rd Anton Hernandez, 4th Kyle Cummins, 5th Braxton Cummings, 6th Isaac Chapple, 7th Evan Mosley, 8th Corey Smith, 9.Korbyn Hayslett, 10.Gage Etgen. 2:11.97

COMPETITION SUSPENSION (CSI) SECOND RUN: (8 rounds, top 4 transfer to feature) 1st Brady Bacon, 2nd Robert Ballou, 3rd Justin Grant, 4th Dustin Clark, 5th Emerson Axsom, 6th Carson Garrett, 7th Lee Underwood, 8th Keith Sheffer II, 9. Hunter Maddox, 10. Matt Good night. 2:11.68

PIT STOP USA THIRD ROUND: (8 rounds, top 4 transfer to feature) 1st CJ Leary 2nd Kevin Thomas Jr 3rd Matt Westfall 4th Logan Seavey 5th Geoff Ensign 6th Brian Ruhlman 7th Chris Windom 8th Larry Kingseed Jr., 9th Ryan Barr, 10th Chad Ruhlman. 2:09.23

STEERING HEAD SUPPLY FOURTH HEAT: (8 rounds, top 4 transfer to feature) 1st Mitchel Moles, 2nd Jadon Rogers, 3rd Shane Cottle, 4th Jason McDougal, 5th Brandon Mattox, 6th Dallas Hewitt, 7th Alex Bright, 8th Chris Phillips, 9.Jack James, 10.Nathan Moore. 2:13.44

Also Read :  Biden says there's no 'guarantee' country will 'get rid of inflation'

C MAIN: (8 rounds, top 4 transfer to semis) 1st Korbyn Hayslett, 2nd Larry Kingseed Jr., 3rd Chris Windom, 4th Alex Bright, 5th Lee Underwood, 6th Chad Ruhlman, 7th Hunter Maddox, 8th Chris Phillips, 9. Matt Good night. 2:19.32

ELLIOTT’S CUSTOM TRAILERS & CARTS SEMI: (12 rounds, top 6 transfer to feature) 1st Emerson Axsom, 2nd Carson Garrett, 3rd Geoff Ensign, 4th Isaac Chapple, 5th Dallas Hewitt, 6th Brandon Mattox, 7th Chris Windom, 8th Braxton Cummings 9 Brian Ruhlman 10 Ryan Barr 11 Korbyn Hayslett 12 Evan Mosley 13 Corey Smith 14 Jack James 15 Larry Kingseed Jr 16 Nathan Moore 17 Keith Sheffer II 3:32.07

FEATURE: (30 laps, starting positions in parentheses) 1st Justin Grant (3), 2nd CJ Leary (8), 3rd Brady Bacon (5), 4th Jason McDougal (1), 5th Chase Stockon (6), 6th Shane Cottle (4), 7th Mitchel Moles (9), 8th Matt Westfall (2), 9th Kevin Thomas Jr. (14), 10th Kyle Cummins (12), 11th Geoff Ensign (10), 12th Logan Seavey (20), 13th Emerson Axsom (13), 14th Anton Hernandez (18), 15th Brandon Mattox (21), 16th Carson Garrett (16), 17th Jake Swanson (7), 18th Jadon Rogers (15th ), 19th Dustin Clark (19), 20th Isaac Chapple (11), 21st Dallas Hewitt (17), 22nd Robert Ballou (22).

Source link