FC Goa announce 27-member squad for Hero Indian Super League 2022-23

Mumbai, 26 September 2022: Goa FC can officially confirm that the club’s squad for the upcoming 2022/23 edition of Hero Indian Super League (ISL) has been submitted. The 27-man squad sees a total of 10 players from Goa donning the Gaurs’ iconic orange jersey this league season.

Carlos Pena, formerly of Goa FC and part of the club’s Super Cup winning team in 2019 and part of the ISL League Winners’ Shield winning team in 2020, is leading the Gaurs as head coach of the team. He is joined by Gouramangi Singh, Gorka Azkorra, Joel Dones and Eduard Carrera, who are also part of the coaching staff.

Also Read :  These before-and-afters will make you question everything about how our economy works.

As per ISL guidelines, FC Goa’s squad for the season includes six overseas signings, one of which is from an AFC member country. While league regulations stipulate a minimum of four U23 players in club squads, the Gaurs squad has nine such names.

Goa FC squad for Hero ISL 2022-23
Goalkeepers: Dheeraj Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Hrithik Tiwari

Defenders: Sanson Pereira, Anwar Ali, Fares Arnaout, Leander D’Cunha, Marc Valiente, Seriton Fernandes, Savior Gama, Aibanbha Dohling, Lesly Rebello

Also Read :  ArcelorMittal holds investor meeting in India, highlighting the quality, capability and ambition of its Indian steelmaking joint venture

Midfielders: Brandon Fernandes (Captain), Princeton Rebello, Ayush Chhetri, Phrangki Buam, Makan Chothe, Redeem Tlang, Edu Bedia, Glan Martins, Brison Fernandes, Muhammed Nemil, Lalremruata HP

Forwards: Noah Sadaoui, Devendra Murgaokar, Iker Guarrotxena, Alvaro Vazquez

Coaching staff: Carlos Pena (head coach), Gouramangi Singh (assistant coach), Gorka Azkorra (assistant coach), Joel Dones (strength and conditioning coach), Eduard Carrera (goalkeeping coach)

Six homegrown players – promoted from Goa FC development team – viz. Hrithik Tiwari, Leander D’Cunha, Savior Gama, Lesly Rebello, Princeton Rebello and Lalremruata HP are among the club’s squad for ISL 2022-23. Among them, Lesly and Lalremruata have been re-promoted following their successes with the dev team over the past few years.

Also Read :  Musk has a 'super app' plan for Twitter. It's super vague | Business

The squad also includes two new faces with previous ISL experience in Arshdeep Singh and Alvaro Vazquez, who join the squad after stints at Odisha FC and Kerala Blasters respectively.

All of the club’s new signings namely Arshdeep Singh, Fares Arnaout, Marc Valiente, Ayush Chhetri, Noah Sadaoui, Iker Guarrotxena and Alvaro Vazquez are expected to make their first ISL appearances for the club this season.